Keynote Presentations (2024)

14th EASN International Conference Keynote Speakers


The 14th EASN International Conference Agenda includes Keynote Speeches, given by distinguished personalities of the European Aviation and Space Community, including industry, research and policymaking. In order to know more about each speaker, please click on their picture below.



Ms. Marylin Bastin
EUROCONTROLActing Director of the European Green Sky Directorate (EGSD)

Keynote title: Innovation and Clean Energy, the key to success for a sustainable aviation

Marylin is the acting Director of the European Green Sky Directorate in EUROCONTROL. In her role, she oversees the Directorate’s responsibilities which includes coordinating and supporting the evolution of European air traffic management (ATM) and working closely with a wide range of aviation stakeholders including governing bodies, national authorities, airlines and financial institutions.

She is also managing EUROCONTROL’s contribution to SESAR as well as steering research & development (R&D) and innovation activities. She is also turning EUROCONTROL unique aviation data into aviation intelligence, delivering performance assessments, aviation traffic forecasts & cost-benefit analyses for European ATM. And finally, she is leading the Aviation Sustainability work supporting the transition to net zero and mitigating climate change impacts.

Marylin is also a member of the Council of Engineers for the Energy Transition (CEET), under the auspices of the United Nations Secretary-General, co-leading the working group on Energy for Transportation.



Prof. Stefanos Fasoulas
University of Stuttgart | Professor for Space Transportation Technology, Managing Director Institute of Space Systems, Dean of Faculty Aerospace Engineering and Geodesy

Keynote title: Technologies of Very Low Altitude Satellites – Contribution to a Sustainable Space Utilization

Stefanos Fasoulas is Professor for Space Transportation Technology and Managing Director of the Institute of Space Systems of the University of Stuttgart, Germany. He received his PhD in 1995 in aerospace engineering at the University of Stuttgart, Germany. He has over 30 years of experience in research and teaching. He also served as Professor for Space Systems and Utilization and Director of the Institute for Aerospace engineering at the TU Dresden, Germany. He is the author or co-author of more than 350 peer-reviewed or conference publications. Since 2021 he is acting as Dean of the Faculty of Aerospace Engineering and Geodesy, University of Stuttgart, and since 2024 as Spokesperson of the Collaborative Research Center “Advancing Technologies of Very Low Altitude Satellites” (CRC 1667 ATLAS), supported by the German Research Foundation (DFG).


Prof. Frank Kirchner
DFKI Bremen | Executive Director

Keynote title: AI-based robotics – a key technology for space applications

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Frank Kirchner is Executive Director of the German Research Center for Artificial Intelligence, Bremen, and is responsible for the Robotics Innovation Center one of the largest centers for AI and Robotics in Europe. Founded in 2006 as the DFKI Laboratory, it builds on the basic research of the Robotics Working Group headed by Kirchner at the University of Bremen. There, Kirchner holds the Chair of Robotics in the Department of Mathematics and Computer Science since 2002. Frank Kirchner is one of the leading experts in the field of biologically inspired behaviour and motion sequences of highly redundant, multifunctional robot systems and machine learning for robotics control.


Prof. Dimitris Lagoudas
Texas A&M University | Professor of Aerospace and Materials Science and Engineering, Robert C. “Bud” Hagner Chair of Engineering, University Distinguished Professor

Keynote title: Adaptive Structures Concepts for Quiet Supersonic Civil Transport Vehicles

Dimitris C. Lagoudas is currently a University Distinguished Professor of Aerospace and Materials Science and Engineering at Texas A&M University and has served as the Senior Associate Vice Chancellor for Engineering Research and Deputy Director of Texas A&M Engineering Experiment Station for Texas A&M University System, and as the Senior Associate Dean for Engineering Research at Texas A&M University for the period of 2012-2023. He has also served as Department Head of Aerospace Engineering, inaugural Chair of the Materials Science and Engineering graduate program, and as an Associate Vice President for Research at Texas A&M University.

D.C. Lagoudas’ research involves the design, characterization and modeling of multifunctional materials at multiple length scales and functionalities, including mechanical, thermal and electromagnetic. He has co-authored more than 550 scientific publications in archival journals and conference proceedings and one of the widely used books on shape memory alloys. The models that his research group developed have been implemented and integrated into finite element analysis software, which have been used by academic institutions around the world and also by industry and government.

D.C. Lagoudas received the 2006 ASME Adaptive Structures and Material Systems Prize in recognition of his contributions to the modeling and characterization of shape memory alloys and their use in aerospace structures, and he is the 2011 recipient of the SPIE Smart Structure and Materials Lifetime Achievement Award. He is a Fellow of AIAA, ASME and SES, and was named a University Distinguished Professor at Texas A&M University in 2013.